Let There be Light(bulbs. In a Singing Pirate Lamp)

IMG_20141109_192221725_HDR

In case you were wondering, the first incandescent light was invented by Humphrey Davy in 1802. He ran current through a thin strip of platinum, which let off a very dim, very expensive glow. Further improvements upon incandescent light, including the development of a more efficient vacuum pump, led to Thomas Edison’s version, the first practical incandescent light bulb in 1879. Edison used carbon filament, and the lamps lasted for 1200 hours. The use of tungsten filament instead of carbon, and filling bulbs with inert gases as opposed to using a vacuum which led to longer lifespans, meant that by 1964, the cost of electric light was 1/30th of what it cost in Edison’s day.

However, incandescent light bulbs, while cheap, are incredibly inefficient: 95% of the energy they use goes to heat, not light. Which is why my humble abode is outfitted entirely with those squiggly little fluorescent ones. The lighting situation in my place leaves something to be desired: I do have lamps, but I hate to admit that the fluorescent bulbs do let off light that’s a little too white. It’s just off. Also, things are somewhat dark, because I bought the 100 watt light bulbs instead of the 200 watt ones, and because a) compact fluorescent bulbs are expensive and b) they last forever, so i won’t be replacing them soon, I am stuck with slightly too-white, slightly too-dim, light. But at least i’m saving the environment.

While the light bulbs are not perfect, my choice in lamps is excellent: the lamp by my bed is a Pirates of the Caribbean lamp, complete with glow-in-the-dark skeletons and a Captain Jack Sparrow figure that moves when the lamp turns on. (It also sings, but I turned that feature off, because a girl is got to have at least a little dignity). This lamp was from a good friend, who saw it at Toys-R-Us and bought it for me. (We are the type of friends that would buy children’s toys for each other. I got her a Lego storm trooper digital clock once.)The lamp did not travel with my to college, but did come with me to Wisconsin, because my parents actually hate the lamp, and keep threatening to clean out and redo my room (which may, for all I know, be an empty threat) and insinuated that if I didn’t take it with me they’d throw it away. So the Singing Pirate Lamp traveled from California, to Arizona, Utah, Idaho, Montana, Wyoming (a brief stop in Yellowstone) South Dakota, Minnesota, and finally Wisconsin. Poor Captain Jack is now 1500 miles from the nearest ocean, though he is currently tethered to a molded plastic mast so I don’t think he cares.

The Singing Pirate Lamp is a marvel of engineering. It has outlasted two computers, a car, and three cellphones. I have never had any occasion to explain to visitors why I have a child’s toy as my primary light source in my bedroom (pretty much all the people I take home with me from the bars are girls who pass out on my couch) but if I did, I would be proud of it.

The miracle of the longevity of the Singing Pirate Lamp comes to mind especially during these trying times of darkness: Benedict Cumberbatch is engaged. The Republicans have taken the senate. The clocks changed, which means it gets dark at 4:30. (Loyal readers may revisit my thoughts on daylight savings time here.) There are rumors afoot that we’re going to get snow this week. Friends, winter is not only coming, but the night is dark and full of terrors. This is why it’s really handy to have a Singing Pirate Lamp.

We are fast approaching my least favorite time of the year, late fall/not quite winter, where the leaves are all gone but there’s no snow yet, just the existential dread of unending winter. And I’m not a huge fan of existential dread. It’s like as soon as we hit Halloween, the leaves all give up the ghost (no pun intended). I realized that I have not actually been through a December in the winter in like, well, ever. School always got off around Thanksgiving, so I spent all of December in balmy California.

Because I am an eternal optimist, I always put off donning my ski jacket until the last possible minute. And I only break out my giant north face parka when absolutely necessary. Yes, I am the type of person to complain about being cold while willfully choosing to wear a less warm jacket because of the psychological implications of wearing the actual warm jacket. It’s a thing. So far, the polar fleece has made it. And one of the benefits of being a person with a car and a job is that I don’t have to trudge a good mile through the snow to get to class. I just have to walk to my car, which is three minutes away. And where I work has an elaborate system of underground (and themed) tunnels to get from point A to point B, so I won’t have to go outside that much.

In the meantime, I will enjoy these last few days of fall. Maybe I’ll get to take my bike out again (though I have to be back by 4:30, because biking in the dark is not fun). And I’m not too worried about the cold. After all, the Singing Pirate Lamp is still equipped with the same light bulbs that were used in my parent’s house, so 95% of the energy it uses is emitted in the form of heat.